You don’t have to be Nancy Drew to figure it out: adulthood is here.

History Essay
Written by Amy Bugno

As adulthood rapidly approaches I’m discovering plenty of indicators that I am, in fact, getting older by the minute. College graduation and the start of my ever-daunting job search are probably the most obvious, but I’m finding others I was unprepared for. Some even seem to have snuck up on me. It’s only now – during my unemployed, quiet, self-reflective days spent staring at the tube from my parents’ couch – that I’ve finally realized them.

First of all, since when did clothes shopping get so up-tight and boring? My last few trips to the mall have been in search of proper interview/work attire. I’m spending my measly amount of babysitting cash on dress pants, conservative tops and uncomfortable, dull shoes. I can’t even remember the last time I bought a pair of jeans, let alone a t-shirt with some kind of witticism emblazoned on the front. I don’t think I’ll ever lose my jeans and t-shirt style but it seems that this business casual ideal has taken over my mind – and certainly my wallet.

I also experienced my first peer wedding this summer. One of my closest friends (we actually met in pre-school, believe it or not) tied the knot a few weeks back. Nothing throws you into adulthood quite like the idea of a lifelong companion getting married. Married. It was one of the most bizarre emotions I’ve ever felt and I still don’t really believe that he’s walking around with a wife now. It’s just too weird. We’re just kids, after all, aren’t we? Oh. We’re 22? Crap…

In another cruel twist of fate, as of May 31 I am no longer considered a dependent on my parents’ health insurance plant. What a metaphorical slap in the face that was. (Good thing I didn’t actually get slapped because apparently if there was any damage done I’d be paying thousands of dollars to get it fixed). August will mark my third personal health insurance bill. I never even thought about having to pay for prescriptions or doctors visits before, now I find myself calculating prescription costs and honking at other drivers for getting too close. Do you know how much I’d have to pay if I got in a car accident?!

It probably doesn’t help that my mom has pictures of my brother and I all over our house. The other night our power went out. As I was wandering around in the dark with a flashlight, I decided it might be a good time to actually look at the photos that have been hanging on the walls for the past 20 years. MAN, I was a cute little kid. You should see how precious I looked back when my biggest concern was what to name my new plastic dinosaur. Here’s a bit of advice for you: If you’re in a good mood, don’t go look at pictures of your childhood. It’s unbelievably depressing.

Finally – and this one is the kicker that inspired this whiny little post of mine – my taste in television has significantly changed since I became a “grown up.” Sure, I still watch my reality TV as much as possible and I’m just as excited about the next season of Grey’s Anatomy as the next drama-hungry viewer… but never in my life have I watched so much TLC. There are hundreds of channels on my TV and the only one I know the number of is 280 – The Learning Channel. Sick, right? You know it’s bad when episodes of What Not to Wear, Jon & Kate and Say Yes to the Dress dominate your conversations with friends. “Did you see the one where they go to the pumpkin patch?! HOW CUTE!” How embarrassing.

Depressing as it might be, I’m sure this is just the beginning of my plunge into the world of adulthood. Just wait until I get a real job and start going to bed at 9 p.m.

(Links today via: Wikipedia, YouTube, Ball State and Flickr)

If you’re starting to see the signs of age (not wrinkles, we’re talking losing the desire to play wiffleball at the family cookout) e-mail Amy and let her know she’s not alone.
1 Comment

Filed under Essays, History

One response to “You don’t have to be Nancy Drew to figure it out: adulthood is here.

  1. Monica Carper

    id your essay is quite accurate 😉

Leave a Reply

