Trivial Links: UPDATE on Esquire’s Napkin Fiction Project

Arts & Literature Trivial Links
Compiled by Nathan Mattise

  • If you’re one of the 20 to 40 people who’ve read this blog (or you’re a personal friend), you’re probably familiar with Esquire’s Napkin Fiction project. I blogged about the project on this site’s very first post and I was so inspired I decided to submit my own piece on a whim. Who knew I’d get a response?About a week and a half back I received a surprise e-mail from the fiction department at Esquire. It was something along the lines of, “Hey, thanks for your response. However we only accept submissions on official Esquire napkins… what’s your address?” Needless to say I was ecstatic. I received my official envelope and submission materials two days ago and I’ve been brainstorming short stories ever since. If anyone’s interested in giving me some feedback, just give me a shout. Rest assured that if I get a piece published anywhere through Esquire, it’ll be very evident on this site.
  • Finally if you’re interested in hearing what others (in particular, popular indie rockers) have to say about their favorite literature, check out Largehearted Boy’s Note Book sections (He also does Book Notes – authors creating playlists to accompany their recent pieces).

(Links today found via: Esquire, NYT Online, YouTube, USA Today’s Pop Candy and Largehearted Boy’s Blog)

Have a suggestion to include in next week’s Trivial Links? E-mail it.
Leave a comment

Filed under Arts & Literature, Trivial Links

Leave a Reply

